Pregnancy books. Do you need them?!

Baby books

With the excitement of finding out you are pregnant, many women then go on a shopping spree to buy pregnancy books and let me tell you, there is plenty out there!

Once again, my thoughts on purchasing these books came down to a monetary aspect. But I still wanted to know what was going on with my body while being pregnant.

Lucky for you and me, we live in a technological era and all the information you need around your pregnancy is at your fingertips.

There is so many apps and websites that it can bit quite overwhelming but I will narrow down the apps and websites I have used as like many of you, I don’t have the time to sit there for hours reading various websites or downloading a heap of apps.

The best app for my iPhone that I have downloaded is the My Pregnancy Baby Center app. A couple of reasons why this is a great app:

  • The app tracks your pregnancy daily. It tells you how many weeks you are and how many days until your due date
  • It gives you very useful daily information around being pregnant. It covers everything from food, exercise, hygiene, pregnancy symptoms and general information. It’s fantastic to get a daily dose of info
  • The best part about this app is the Birth Club. Basically a forum dedicated to the month your baby is due. So you sign up and jump on and you and any other women who is due the month you are due are in that forum. This have been invaluable to me as I read the various symptoms and see if what I was experiencing was normal, ready on what was coming up (as most women were ahead of me as I am due 31 May) and also give you the opportunity to post your own questions and queries and have the other mothers respond. This has been great for me as mentioned previously because I don’t have friends who have been mothers to help me along so sometimes at night before I go to sleep I would stay up and chat with the other mothers and feel at ease that the things that were happening to my body was perfectly normal

The other app that I have also downloaded and used is BabyBump (both apps are free by the way).

Now BabyBump I have used for the below reasons:

  • This app also tracks your pregnancy letting you know how far along you are and how many days you have left
  • This app also comes with a daily information dose around pregnancy
  • I have used this app to track my baby bump! At first I didn’t want to do this when my Mum and others suggested it because I felt weird seeing my belly grow but I thank god I did it because it’s not something you can exactly go back and do. This app tracks your baby bump weekly and now I love going back over the weeks to see how much I have grown! It’s just such a wonderful experience to go through that I love that its been captured in this app for me to look at
  • There is a journal section which I have used to track my weight. You can also include your measurements but I never used that. I’ve only just used it to track my weight.

Now I also suggest to sign up with the Baby Center website. They will send you a weekly email to let you know how your baby is growing and developing and they also have some great videos to see your little one developing. I love receiving my weekly newsletter letting me know how my baby is growing and growing.

The other website which I signed up to quite late in my pregnancy but have enjoyed the emails coming through is the Huggies website. They also send through a weekly newsletter and gives you helpful tips and info on pregnancy at that specific stage.

Now I got given one baby book through work which is called Baby Love by Robin Barker. I have found this very very hard to read. I am not even a quarter of the way through the book and to be honest I just find it really boring and tedious. I felt guilty at first when I wasn’t enjoying reading the book but then realised that I can get that very information elsewhere and in a much more lighthearted way.

I found it a heavy read and don’t think I will be picking up the book anytime soon.

Another good source of information which I will go into more details in another post is my antenatal classes. My antenatal classes are run by the midwives and they give you a bunch of readings every week.

I found it great to read on my to work or back as it was a couple of pages and didn’t have to carry a whole book and again snippets of information.

I just find there is such an information overload with pregnancy that I can’t handle too much at the same time as I most certainly get overwhelmed so the various ways above of getting information about my pregnancy has worked for me like a dream!

Oh and being able to access blogs like mine and others out there are great as well to help through your pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

