Second trimester bliss

Second trimester

So hopefully by the 13th or 14th week your morning sickness has past.

For myself I was 13.5 weeks in when then nausea stopped and the tiredness also went away. I was so relieved and happy once that part was over.

I found it tough to work and feel sick and tired everyday. It also drained my weekends.

The other wonderful thing that happens is that you can start telling people the fantastic news! A lot of people still wait until the 12 week mark or after they get their results from the Down Syndrome and Spina Bifida test to tell people.

I was one who did want to wait until I knew everything was great with baby before I let my friends and extended family know. The only people we told straight away was our parents.

I have a friend of a friend who is 5 weeks behind me and decided to tell people before the tests results came back. Her test results came back in the high range of Down Syndrome and she then had to go through further procedures and tests. Whilst she was going through this torment, people around her kept on congratulating her on the baby. It was a horrible experience to go through and she had wished she had waited until after the results before she announced the news.

Thank goodness that after further testing the baby is ok.

So these three months are really the best. Most days I woke up and forgot I was pregnant!

The most exciting aspect of the second trimester is that you finally get to feel the baby kick. It was one of the most extraordinary experiences I can’t even describe. The moment when you actually feel a little life inside of you. No words can describe.

Most women feel their babies start kicking in the 18th-20th week.

I have an anterior placenta (which is not the norm but its nothing dangerous). This means that the placenta is sitting in the front of my stomach as opposed to the back. This meant that it created like a cushioning between the baby and my own belly so it took me a bit longer before I felt my baby kicks. It was the 21st week before I felt the ever so little flutters in my tummy. I wasn’t sure if it was my stomach rumbling or if it was the baby and then finally I knew it was the baby when I felt the repetitive light taps and when my partner was able to feel it, it was such a gorgeous moment for the both of us.

You also have your 20 week scan in the third trimester which is a big scan that in that you can see your baby much clearer, they take measurements of all your baby’s body parts and organs, ensure baby is ok and some ultrasound places give you the option to take a DVD home of this (once again, think about whether this is worth the extra cost).

This is the time to do all the running around you need to do for the baby because come the third trimester, you’re not going to really want to.

Don’t think it’s too early to start shopping for the baby. I started at 4 months and I’m so glad I did because I think I would be really stressed trying to buy things now.

There is so much out there that its overwhelming. We visited every baby store in Sydney so a lot of weekends consumed as well as researching.

Enjoy your second trimester! It’s a beautiful time to see your belly grow, enjoy life, see things differently, the world looks like a different place now that you know you will be bringing a life into this world.

2 thoughts on “Second trimester bliss

  1. You missed the part about feeling bloated and not fitting into your normal clothes (but being too small for real maternity clothing), which I found to be a huge pain. But yes, still quite heavenly especially in hindsight when you’re going thru the THIRD trimester, pure hell!! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

